JMSS delivers its curriculum via a team teaching paradigm that places two teachers with 50 students in most situations. JMSS is a facility with multiple open learning spaces and this paradigm has many advantages over traditional teaching pedagogies.

Team Teaching.

All curriculum delivered is aligned with the Australian Curriculum (AusVELs) and VCE.

Team teaching is preferred at JMSS because it:

  • Stems from improved lesson planning and preparation;
  • Allows for greater consistency in curriculum delivery between team taught classes;
  • Fosters a sense of collaboration and teamwork between staff;
  • Allows for greater opportunities, flexibility in teaching strategies and the ability to more effectively differentiate learning in class;
  • Exposes students to a wider range of perspectives as both teachers bring their own experiences to the class;
  • Accelerates professional growth for inexperienced and graduate teachers;
  • Enables students to develop important 21st century skills in collaboration, team-work, compromise, creativity and problem-solving;
  • Allows for more activity-based discovery learning, project-based learning and genuine team-based inquiry which are all important in developing STEM knowledge and skills.

All JMSS curriculum is accessible anywhere and anytime online to allow for seamless transitions between home and school.

Staff Directory


Peter Corkill

Assistant Principals

Andrew Chisholm (Curriculum, Pedagogy and Operations)

Jeremy Mackinnon (Student Empowerment and Achievement)

Attendance & Absences

Trudy Braden – Attendance Officer

Telephone: 03 9902 9712

Business Manager

Corey Goodes


Martine St Leon

Department Heads

Head of Science – Melanie Denney

Head of Mathematics – Rowen May

Head of English  – Louise Bourke

Head of Humanities – Chris Mann

Head of Digital Technologies – David Albrecht

Head of Learning Implementation – Alex Gavrilescu

Head of Student Transitions – Mal Anderson

Head of Professional Learning – Rowen May

Head of Sport – Greg Whyte

Head of Music –  Sean Smyth

Head of LOTE – Daniel Cussen

Laboratory Manager – Anna Zonneveld

eServices Manager – Matthew Jarvis

Co-curricular Program – Ben Delves

Outreach Programs

Director of Emerging Sciences Victoria (ESV) – Luke Bohni

Marketing and Outreach Program Manager – Erin Hayley

School Captains

Vibha Srinivasan & Aabshaar Ahmad

School Vice- Captains

Ruby Nathan-Valentine & Benjamin Russell

House Leaders

Doherty House – Dulvin Bandara & Lachlan Kirkpatrick

Blackburn House  – Parsa Aghajani  & Chelsea Dao

Wood House – Areeba Ali Nazar & Eric Zeng

Flannery House – Cameron Robinson & Angus Chu

House Vice Leaders

Doherty House – Alexia Arta & Zoe Harrison

Blackburn House  – Gasper Liau  & Archie Callander

Wood House – Cameron McCutcheon & Dulanitha Mendis

Flannery House – Madison Galland & Tiyara Nanayakkara

Student Leadership

Arts Captains –  Thomas Ma, Nikki Li, Malavika Harish & Jason Wang

Humanities Captains –  Nicole Lee, Leonie Chim, Emily Loh & Cassandra Joseph

Media/ AV Captains –  Lydia Jung, Ethan Green, Himalaya Joshi & Alisa Kong

Music Captains –  Danna Lei Paibayo, Melody Wang, Estelle Roberts & Jodee Chiong

Sports Captains –  Sanduni Wijarupage, Lana Joel, Lucas Bird & Carolyn Prakash 

STEM Captains – Hita Keshav, Charlotte Kokuzawa, Marcus Lee & Danil Yahnov

Sustainability Captains –  Alissa Yee, Emily Pham, Siya Joshi & Michael Cotungo


VCE Coordination and VASS team

VCE Co-Manager –  Anna Vida

VASS Administrator – Wendy Vandenberg

Telephone: 03 9902 9705

Work Experience, Careers and Pathways team

Kirstine Carter

Telephone: 03 9902 0286

Alumni & Archives

Erin Hayley

Telephone: 03 9905 8062